Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Hardcoding & Record counts in a file Post 302549222 by shruthidwh on Monday 22nd of August 2011 09:17:13 AM
Old 08-22-2011
HI ,

I tried the below code but it's giving the error at the datetime part.

Code:
awk 'BEGIN { print "file_name = test_count" }  print { Datetime = "date +%Y%m%d%H%M%S"} print {date = "date"} print {record_count = NR} { print $0 }'  test.csv > test_gen.csv

can you pls tell where I am doing it wrong.

Regards,
Shruthi

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

file size counts??

Hello experts, I do - $ ls -lhtr logs2007* Is it possible that i can get the results of- totals size in MB/KB for ALL "logs2007*" note: in the same directory I have "logs2006*" & "logs2007*" files. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: thepurple
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how to get a file name & record count of csv file

HI , I am new to shell scripting , I have a requirement that I send a file for data quality ( original.csv) & i will be getting 4 files daily into a particular directory in return with cleansed data . the files may be clean.csv, unclean.csv , ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sirik
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sending e-mail of record counts in 3 or more files

I am trying to load data into 3 tables simultaneously (which is working fine). Then when loaded, it should count the total number of records in all the 3 input files and send an e-mail to the user. The script is working fine, as far as loading all the 3 input files into the database tables, but... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: msrahman
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

New file should store all the 7 existing filenames and their record counts and ftp th