Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Shell - Replace
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Shell - Replace Post 302538589 by Corona688 on Wednesday 13th of July 2011 12:27:30 PM
Old 07-13-2011
Code:
awk '{ print "TEST" $0 }' < infile > outfile

$0 is a special variable in awk which means 'the entire line'.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

replace a value with another in shell script

hai everybody, i am new to scripting,i have to replace a value with another value ina script...both the values i have got in two seperate variables...can anyone give me the syntax how to do this in a shell script... ie. e1=$5,e2=$6 v2=$1,v3=$7 now i want to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Babu
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

find a shell and replace the line

I need a shell which makes a search of an UNIX script and them modifies. :confused: vi $(grep -l 5 $(find . -name 'vellon.bcf' -print)) (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jvellon
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

replace shell (sh)

Hi, I need to replace the old "sh" binaries with a new binary. what could be the steps for the same. some details: =============== root@mymachine// $ find / -name sh -print /usr/bin/sh /usr/bin/posix/sh /usr/newconfig/etc/mail/cf/sh /var/jail/wp_internet/usr/bin/sh... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: amit4g
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace xml values -- Shell --

Hello all, I try to create a bash script but till now without any positiv results. The script should replace different variables in a text file with the right xml values Look at the following xml file: file.xml =================================== <?xml version="1.0"... (14 Replies)
Discussion started by: research3
14 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell Script to replace text