Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Modifying the Restart Script
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Modifying the Restart Script Post 302526928 by itkamaraj on Thursday 2nd of June 2011 02:08:19 AM
Old 06-02-2011
A special variable called $? holds the last executed command exit status

in the if condition, we are checking the status. 0(zero) means success.

if it is success, then we are triggering the start script. Otherwise exit the shell script with exit status 1

---------- Post updated at 11:38 AM ---------- Previous update was at 11:38 AM ----------

Unix - Special Variables

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

need help with understanding and modifying script

hi all, i am new to UNIX. this is my first time using Ubuntu. i need to do this for my fyp. i am using an artificial neural network model to predict the yield strength of steel. the shell script used to execute this model is as shown here: #Thomas Sourmail, Cambridge University /... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: dakkorn
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help modifying script to loop through all folders

I have this script someone very kindly help me write last year which loops through all files in a folder and does a command. I need to modify it to loop through all sub-folders of a main folder and only perform the command on files modified after Jan 1st 2008. And I need the command to place the... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Fred Goldman
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Modifying a .ksh script

Hi users, I am on a beginner level and just joined this site. I have created a simple .ksh file in the following manner cat <<EOF >mfile #!/bin/ksh echo "hello world" EOF Request for some help with 2 cases 1. now i would like to add a second line after the first echo command... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: corbusier
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Modifying the ntpd deamon script