Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Newbie Question: What is php shell scripting? Post 302512457 by KenJackson on Sunday 10th of April 2011 11:55:44 AM
Old 04-10-2011
The PHP Manual is online.

Also, if you install the php-cli package (on Fedora--probably similar on others), there's some very basic help from the command man php.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

shell scripting newbie question

Hi all! I'm a newbie to shell scripting. I want to create a script that will store a line from a text file in a variable so I can then use it to open firefox with that text in the address bar (the text file contains a list of addresses). I have tried the following: #!/bin/sh a='sed -n 2p... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jazzman
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell scripting newbie - please be gentle.

Hello Gurus, Here's my problem, I have log files that are created automatically once a day by a feature of NetBackup called Vault. I usually move these files manually to a different location so I can FTP them later, however I know that this can be automated and so here's the info: When vault... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: charliemp3
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Shell Scripting Newbie

I'm relatively new at this scripting game, just need to learn some basic stuff for data handling. My current need is to write a script that loops through a textfile of filenames, and for each file removes the first line and re-writes that file to a new name. In fact I could do with knowing... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mattyjim2
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Newbie question-do I pause and exec my shell scripts?