Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting script to include filename with variations at the beginning of the file Post 302507993 by ctsgnb on Friday 25th of March 2011 11:01:53 AM
Old 03-25-2011
Forget the rename command, use mv

Not that using mv will make you loose the inode of the target file you can alternately do :

Code:
for i in *.html
do
     echo "${i%.*}" >tmpfile
     cat "$i" >>tmpfile
     cat tmpfile >>"$i"
     rm tmpfile
done

---------- Post updated at 04:01 PM ---------- Previous update was at 03:54 PM ----------

For education purpose :

Code:
# a=toto.AnyThing.html
# echo $a
toto.AnyThing.html
# echo "${a%.*}"
toto.AnyThing
# echo "${a%%.*}"
toto

also read this

Last edited by ctsgnb; 03-25-2011 at 12:07 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to include header file in b-sh script

I'm new in this. In C/C++, you define variables in one header file & then simply include it in any files where those variables are referenced. I tried to include a header named DefineVars- which initializes all the globals- but when I add the line "DefineGlobals" at the begining of another... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: bluemoon1
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to find the path of a file when it is passed as ....filename(parameter) to script

hi unix guru's..................:confused: question is posted in the #3 permalink shown below. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: yahoo!
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to include field in the output filename of awk

Im using awk and I want the output filename to contain the first field of the input file. Ex. 1 dddd wwwww 1 eeeee wwww 1 wwww eerrrr 2 eeee eeeeee I want the output files to be xxx1 and xxx2 Thank you (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: yahyaaa
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Option in sql script to include column headers when spooling file to .csv format