Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Script for Taring the all the folderand move into another server Post 302465383 by bakunin on Friday 22nd of October 2010 09:56:24 AM
Old 10-22-2010
I am not sure why you use such a complicated approach - not to mention that the AIX tar doesn't understand "-maxdepth", because it is no GNU-tar:

Code:
tar -cvf /path/to/tarfile $(find ./* -prune -type d -print)

should more or less do what you want.

I hope this helps.

bakunin

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to move a file from one server to another server using FTP in shell script?

I have a file --> file1.txt i need to copy this file to another server using FTP....the 2 servers are server1 and server2..may i know how to write a script that can do this? thanks in advance! Im a newbie to this... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: forevercalz
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to move files while Taring..

Hi, When I run the following command the files get TAR but the files in the folder remain intact. tar -cvf TARZIP.10 Nov09/ Is there any way to move them into the folder than just copying them. Thanks and regards, Gideon. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: preethgideon
2 Replies

3. IP Networking

Dedicated Server Move

I just moved a dedicated server, which included moving to a new subnet, and new IP address. Now my server is not reconnecting - I've tried ifconfig, altering the etc/hosts file with the new ip address, with no luck. (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: esmerika
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

script to move files as they generate to another server ?

Im trying to come up with a way to automate moving logs as they generate from one server to another. Anyone have script or idea how most simply to get it done ? want to get this working so dont have to monitor and move these logs during the evening. Thanks for any ideas -Vinman (2 Replies)