Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Problem in loops in shell scripting Post 302459854 by Tytalus on Tuesday 5th of October 2010 01:17:39 PM
Old 10-05-2010
something like:

Code:
#  cat var.ksh 
#!/bin/ksh

v=""
for i in 1 2 3 4 5 
        do
                v="THerrFile_$i.err";
                echo $v
done

#  ./var.ksh 
THerrFile_1.err
THerrFile_2.err
THerrFile_3.err
THerrFile_4.err
THerrFile_5.err

should set you in right direction....HTH

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

scripting headache... loops & variables

Surely there's an easier way to do this, lets see if anyone knows! I am new to scripting so go easy on me! I have the following script and at the moment it doesn't work and I believe the problem is that I am using a while loop within a while loop. When I run the script using sh -x I can see... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: StevePace
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

shell scripting problem

her i am trying to edit a database file which is actually a small file holding my friend's name and birthdays My Database DEEPAK 27/08 DEEPIKA 18/02 DHYAN 23/03 DIPANKAR 24/10 SNIGDHO 19/05 AYANNAR 17/12 BHAI 22/09 DEBAN 16/08 JAGADISH 02/06 SUBHOJIT 23/02 TOJO 17/09 SUDHIR 12/09... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mobydick
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell scripting and ls -1 problem

Hey, I'm running knoppix and I'm trying to run a shell script to change multiple lines of text in multiple files #!/bin/sh for i in 'ls-1 test' do sed 's/bob/manny/'g $i > $i.0 mv $i.0 $i done Obviously this isn't the original file, but it's on another non-networked machine. What... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: afroCluster
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

bash scripting: using multiple 'for loops'??