Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Getting filenames from a directory in single line Post 302459502 by Raamc on Monday 4th of October 2010 09:38:17 PM
Old 10-04-2010
Hi Agama,

Thank you very much, that worked.

I need one more small clue, I got the output like this
/home/RAAM/work/test1.xls /home/RAAM/work/test2.xls

I need to get only filenames with out directory structure, can you please help.

Thank you very much for quick response.

--Thanks,
--Raam.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

looping thru filenames in a directory

Hi, i am very new to UNIX, i am trying to loop thru the files in a directory. I got the filenames into a variable using $files=`ls` Here $files will contain <filename1> <filename2> <filename3> I want to get one filename at a time and append it to some some text. forexample, ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: silas.john
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

concatenating the filenames in a directory

hi all, I have a requirement where in i have to read all the filenames based on a pattern from a directory and concatenate all these file names and write it to another file. i am using the following code to do this var1='' for filename in $_DIR/${FILE_NAME}* do if if then... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: nvuradi
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Change all filenames in a directory

I have a directory of files and each file has a random 5 digit string at the beginning that needs to be removed. Plus, there are some files that will be identically named after the 5 digit string is removed and I want those eliminated or moved. any ideas? (17 Replies)
Discussion started by: crumb
17 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Use filenames to create directory.