Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help Required For String Matching Post 302459274 by abhigrkist on Monday 4th of October 2010 08:50:25 AM
Old 10-04-2010
Help Required For String Matching

I am new to shell scripting !!!!!!!!!!.ANY HELP WOULD BE APPRECIATE :-
i want to write a script that will check the log for string:
waiting for [10] seconds

for this I am using :-
Code:
tail -10 log.20101004 | tail -1

and grep the "string" but when matching error is coming ,see script below:-

i want to kill that process if matching pattern came,
Code:
LOG_PATH=/temp/circles/ABHI/LOGs
DATE=`date +%Y%m%d`
LOG_NAME=gprs_cdr_parser_log.$DATE
PID=`ps -eaf| grep del_gprs_cdrs_parserd | grep -v 'grep' | awk '{ print $2 }'`
cd $LOG_PATH
VAR=`tail -10 gprs_cdr_parser_log.20101004 | tail -1 | awk '{ print $2 }'`
if [ $VAR = "Waiting" ]
then
echo " Restarting the gprs parserd process"
kill -9 $VAR
else
echo "Processed picked the file ,not restrting "
exit 0;

error::-
Code:
+ LOG_PATH=/temp/circles/ABHI/LOGs
++ date +%Y%m%d
+ DATE=20101004
+ LOG_NAME=gprs_cdr_parser_log.20101004
++ grep del_gprs_cdrs_parserd
++ ps -eaf
++ grep -v grep
++ awk '{ print $2 }'
+ PID=13137
+ cd //temp/circles/ABHI/LOGs
++ tail -10 gprs_cdr_parser_log.20101004
++ tail -1
++ awk '{ print $2 }'
+ VAR=Waiting
gprs_cdr_parser_restart.sh: line 16: syntax error: unexpected end of file

Last edited by Scott; 10-04-2010 at 10:30 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed problem - replacement string should be same length as matching string.

Hi guys, I hope you can help me with my problem. I have a text file that contains lines like this: 78 ANGELO -809.05 79 ANGELO2 -5,000.06 I need to find all occurences of amounts that are negative and replace them with x's 78 ANGELO xxxxxxx 79... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: amangeles
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

String matching