Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Unix command line question
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Unix command line question Post 302454326 by Judo_Bear on Friday 17th of September 2010 03:38:07 PM
Old 09-17-2010
Unix command line question

I'm new to Unix and I'm looking for some assistance. We have 20 different accounts we must login to every day. Logging in has become quite the chore and most nights, we have to log out. I'm looking for a way to simply copy and paste the commands into each window to make things easier.
I have been using the following to log in every time: different 20 different accounts across three servers.

Code:
$ su - account
Password
$cd /home/i5/i5.4/release/account
$. ./profile.ksh
whoami: not found
$. ./profile.ksh
$bash
$PS1='Account1:'
Account1:

I am trying to combine these all on one line. That way I just copy and paste the entire line to save time. When I do however, my prompt does not change.
Code:
$cd /home/i5/i5.4/release/account; . ./profile.ksh; . ./profile.ksh; bash; PS1='Account1:'
bash$

I'm not even certain the second ././profile ran, although I'm pretty sure it did. What did not run though is the change of my prompt. Would someone help so I can only copy and paste one line to have all of the commands run? If there is an easier way to automate this, please let me know.

Last edited by Scott; 09-17-2010 at 05:03 PM.. Reason: Added CODE tags, removed formatting

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unix command question

I recently went in for a job interview and the guy asked me what I knew about Unix. I told him not much since I haven't worked with it in a few years. He then asked me the following question: What Unix or Linux shell command will tell you the names of all files in the current directory, along... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: BMWBigD
2 Replies

2. Solaris

shutdown question from command line