Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Scripting advice needed
Operating Systems Linux Scripting advice needed Post 302452668 by Wiggins on Sunday 12th of September 2010 12:57:03 PM
Old 09-12-2010
Scripting advice needed

Evening all,

Im trying to get a script that will:
Select the most 3 recent files in a specific directory
Run a command on them (like chmod)
Ask of you would like to continue
Copy the files to another directory
If a linux guru could help me out, it would be very much appreciated.

Thanks for reading

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Linux

programming advice needed....

i'm a grad student taking a UNIX course and a networks course (i have a background in C++ and JAVA). i'm trying to combine the two classes. My questions stems from a networks programming homework assignment below: "Using the operating system and language of your choice, develop a program to... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: trostycp
5 Replies

2. Solaris

Using San storage - advice needed

Thinking of using our San for network backups.. Have a Netra 240 being installed and planning to get some space on our San. Do you know what software is used to access the San from my server or what I would need to do? I know how to connect to local storage, disk arrays etc but not sure what... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: frustrated1
1 Replies

3. Linux

GUI builder advice needed ......

Hello all, I need to develop an application that would be used as a simulator to test various custom algorithms. As I have never embarked on this kind of work, I need some advice: 1. Which GUI library to use in Linux, GTK+ or FLTK? The simulator application needs to output various... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: fox_hound_33
2 Replies

4. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

LVM resizing advice needed