Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: += operator
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers += operator Post 302451122 by astrolux444 on Sunday 5th of September 2010 09:42:07 PM
Old 09-05-2010
+= operator

im new to bash scripting and im just using online tutorials and trial and error. i wanted to write a script to read numbers from a file and find their sum:

Code:
#!/bin/bash

theSum=0
for line in $(cat numbers.txt)
do
	let "theSum = theSum + $line"
	echo "$line"
done

echo "The sum is $theSum"

when i run this it echoes all the numbers but doesnt give me the correct sum and echo $? returns 0. my console output looks like this:

Code:
$ ./test.sh
")syntax error: invalid arithmetic operator (error token is "
The sum is 89

im not sure why i am getting those syntax errors. thanks.

Last edited by pludi; 09-06-2010 at 01:57 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

And operator

I am trying to check two variables and if both are blank I want to set a flag: the_f3_pid=`rsh $target ps -ef | grep "f3.eab" | awk '{print $2}'` the_f7_pid=`rsh $target ps -ef | grep "f7.eab" | awk '{print $2}'` if ; then y=1 fi I get an error: ./script_name: test: 0403-021 ]... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: rcarnesiii
4 Replies

2. HP-UX

Or operator with if

hi, i was trying to club to test condition with if. if -o ; then it is giving me error message, i wanted to ask how can we check two condtions with one if. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: babom
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

SED * operator

1. echo "abc 123 abc" | sed 's/*/X/' yields - X 123 abc Does this mean the "*" operator matches ONLY the first and the entire token - "abc" and replaces with "X" ? 2. echo "123 abc" | sed 's/*/X/' yields - X123 abc What does this indicate about the "*" operator ?? (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: sinpeak
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

TEST operator help