Sponsored Content
Operating Systems OS X (Apple) command to check presence of volume Post 302437376 by kevinmmac on Wednesday 14th of July 2010 10:24:11 PM
Old 07-14-2010
command to check presence of volume

Hi:

I'm not really a programmer, but I've created a small logout hook script to copy some specific directories to a server volume when a user logs out (10.6.4). These is a laptop user, so I'm looking find:

1) the command to check if the volume (including path to directory?) is available.

2) the command to stop end the script if the volume/path is not available, but continue with my cp commands if the volume/path is present.

3) do logout hooks run only after all user-launched applications have fully quit? If not, what would be the command(s) to make sure all the apps quit before the script continues? Naturally, I want to be sure the copy commands run only if all the user's apps have quit so there are no open documents.

I've already created an Automator script to do what I want, but can't locate the info on how to make it run during the logout process. I'm more of a GUI person, so if someone knows how to do this, that would be a good answer for me.

Thanks!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

How to check size of Volume Group

Did anyone knows how to check size/usage of a Volume Group in AIX 4.3.3? (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: s_aamir
4 Replies

2. AIX

Check quorum for volume group

Hi all, I would like to ensure that a volume group has an effective quorum setting of 1 (or off). I know you can change the quorum setting using the chvg -Q command but want to know if the setting has been changed before the vg was varied on or a reboot. In other words how can I ensure that... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: backslash
3 Replies

3. AIX

Basic Filesystem / Physical Volume / Logical Volume Check