Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting cutting unix path after known directoryname Post 302419236 by Qube on Thursday 6th of May 2010 02:46:51 PM
Old 05-06-2010
Thank YOU!
Afterwards things always look surprisingly easy. Smilie

Just for the sake of theory I have an additional question.
What if the path has 2 occurences of "apache" and I want to chop off from the first occurence (like in my first question)?

Thanks, Qube

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

UNIX PATH info required PLEASE HELP (I'm new to unix)

I need to know how to enter a unix path in a cgi script for a guest book: example: My URL is http://www.kitachi.info I have an html file in the main folder on my site, the file is called : gbook.html what would the correct unix path for this file be ??? the part of the script... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: akitachi
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

missing Path(in UNIX) when i launch a job on to unix machine using windows SSh

hi i want run an unix application from a windows program/application.i am using SSH(command line version)to log on to a unix machine from windows. the application has to read a configuration file inorder to run. the configuration file .CFG is in bin in my home directory. but the application... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: megastar
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unix Path

Hi all, I've found following information in sunfreeware: ----------------- If the package installs in /usr/local/bin, you must put /usr/local/bin (or /opt/foo/bin when programs install in /opt/fee) in your UNIX PATH. You will also probably want to add /usr/local/man to your MANPATH in a... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: ffpradella
9 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

PATH in unix