Sponsored Content
Homework and Emergencies Homework & Coursework Questions Counting a particular word per line Post 302411028 by bigubosu on Wednesday 7th of April 2010 11:46:48 AM
Old 04-07-2010
Sorry i should've said that im only supposed to do this over 1 line or just as a command. I'm fairly new to using unix tools please forgive me.

so for example listing hte unique words in the file would be

Code:
cat <filename> | tr " " "\n" + sort + uniq

for future replies

Last edited by bakunin; 04-07-2010 at 12:51 PM.. Reason: same here: please use code-tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Linux

option of grep for counting exact word ??

Hi All, I have a quary regarding grep command in linux. I have a file which contains 56677 56677 +56677 +56677 56677 56677 56677 I want to extract total count of "56677" When I hit the following command #cat filename | grep -w -c '56677' the result comes 7. Its counting... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: maddy
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

counting the occurence of a word

In a file I have to count a particular word. like i need apache how many times. I tried this $ tr "\011" "\012\012"<foo1 | tr -cd "" |sort\uniq -c but I got result like this 32 apache 18 dns 12 doctor Please sugest me (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: pranabrana
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Print word 1 in line 1 and word 2 in line 2 if it matches a pattern

i have a file in this pattern MATCH1 word1 IMAGE word3 word4 MATCH2 word1 word2 word3 word4 MATCH2 word1 word2 word3 word4 MATCH2 word1 word2 word3 word4 MATCH2 word1 word2 word3 word4 MATCH1 word1 IMAGE word3 word4 MATCH2 word1 word2 word3 word4 MATCH2 word1 word2 word3 word4 MATCH2 word1... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: bangaram
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

counting word xx referred to a time period, like minute or hour