Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Connect MySQL database from Unix Post 302406942 by apsprabhu on Wednesday 24th of March 2010 08:16:45 AM
Old 03-24-2010
Thanks a lot Durden...

As i'm new to mysql , Please clarify me on the following,

Code:
$ cat -n connect_mysql.sh
     1 #!/bin/bash
     2 # connect to test database and query the EMP table
     3 mysql -u test -ptest test <<EOF
     4 select * from emp;
     5 EOF

mysql -u test -ptest test
---> here what does the "-u" do?
---> here which is the user name?
--->here which is the database name?
---> here why the "test" comes twice?

Last edited by pludi; 03-24-2010 at 09:26 AM.. Reason: code tags, please...

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

¿how can I connect C to a database?

hi, please, help me i need connect my program in C whit a SybaseIQ 12 database i´m programming in solaris 5 (unix) please, help me, because i don`t know what to do... thanks.. jonathan (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: DebianJ
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Can i connect from a .sh or .sc to a database?

please, help me-.... i need connect to a database Sybase IQ 12 and I don't know if i can do it using a shell program. if it's posibble, please tell me how... please, help me, because I don't know what to do.... thanks... jonathan (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: DebianJ
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to connect to database db2 through Unix Shell Script

I am trying to connect to database db2 through shell script. The process I am trying is > db2 It gives me error Access Denied. While checking for access I have the rights. Is there ant other way round..? Please help. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ankitgupta
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

how will i connect postgres database from unix shell script

I have got the solution so just closing this issue. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: jambesh
3 Replies