Sponsored Content
Operating Systems SCO New line being stripped from sed command Post 302406350 by jgt on Monday 22nd of March 2010 04:09:53 PM
Old 03-22-2010
What's wrong with
Code:
echo $VAR >tmpfile
cat logfile >>tmpfile

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help in sed command [ printing a pattern + its line no or line no alone ]

Hello friends, Only very recently i started learning sed command...an i found that sed is faster in finding the patterns than some of my scripts that uses grep to check the patten inside a file using line by line search method which is time consuming. The below script... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: frozensmilz
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Loop with sed command to replace line with sed command in it

Okay, title is kind of confusion, but basically, I have a lot of scripts on a server that I need to replace a ps command, however, the new ps command I'm trying to replace the current one with pipes to sed at one point. So now I am attempting to create another script that replaces that line. ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: cbo0485
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

What is the command use to combine line using sed

Hi all, What is the sed command use to combine line? Example: Below is an output after extracted from few commands aaa bbb ccc ddd eee fff ggg and i would like to combine all the line as shown below, aaa,bbb,ccc,ddd,eee,fff (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: 793589
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed command to delete line

HI, Im using the below commmand to delete lines having "(" at the start of a line. sed -e '/^(/d' But i need a command to delete lines that has only "(" in it and no other strings. infile - asdf asdf ( asdf ( asd outfile (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: dvah
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed command to delete everything after > on line