Sponsored Content
Top Forums Programming Linux System C headers puzzling Post 302390106 by JackCrital2005 on Wednesday 27th of January 2010 01:40:08 AM
Old 01-27-2010
Java Linux System C headers puzzling

I am new to Linux system programming, and I found the sophisiticated definition of some library function differ a lot with what I learnt in classes.

Here is the question:
what does the suffix of function `chmod' in sys/stat.h mean. The funtion claimation is like following:
Code:
    extern int chmod (__const char *__file, __mode_t __mode)
     __THROW __nonnull ((1));

According to my broken programming knowledge, suffix like "__THROW __nonnull ((1))" appear only in the C++, and they are generally used to handle the throwing of exceptions inside the functions.

I am glad anybody who is willing to share his/her idea. Thanks a lot.

Last edited by pludi; 01-27-2010 at 02:59 AM.. Reason: code tags, please...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

System Headers Path?

Is there an environment variable or other mechanism whereby I can get the system headers path? Preferrably I would like to be able to gather this information independant of the flavor of Unix. Thanks, Scott. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: scottr
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWk is still puzzling me...

Hi all. Here's what i want to do: my_first_file #!/usr/bin/ksh # BLA BLA BLA BLA printf "this is my first file \n" echo " I understand this far" printf "the day's over \n" echo "great" my_second_file #!/usr/bin/ksh # BLA BLA BLA BLA printf "this is my first file \n" AN_INSERTED_LINE... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: penguin-friend
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

puzzling regexp