Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Executing script at system start up Post 302386788 by ceubank on Wednesday 13th of January 2010 02:17:04 PM
Old 01-13-2010
I usually create a script in /etc/rc3.d called S99local for this type of thing. That way when the system hits runlevel 3, it runs my script after everything else has started. Just make sure the permissions are set up correctly and owned by the superuser account.

Good luck!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. SCO

System will not start

I am running OpenServer 5.0.5a on a Compaq Proliant 800. When trying to start the system it goes through loading everything and at the end I get the following message. WARNING: hd: no root disk controller was found H iinit ime Loadable Driver May be requiredG drain8042 PANIC: srmontfun -... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: karlb1
1 Replies

2. SuSE

Executing set of sh files at system startup

Hi Everybody I am totally new to Linux. We are using Suse Linux version 9. Currently we have 4 to 5 shell scripts which needs to be executed manually by the users.I want these scripts to be run automatically when system starts...something like system startup service. When system is... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: appleforme1415
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Executing a script on a remote system via SSH

Hello all, I have a relatively simple script I wrote to generate a count of errors broken down. What I would like to do is execute this script from another server so that I don't actually have to log in to the server to run the check. The script on what we'll call "Server A" is: ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: DeCoTwc
2 Replies

4. AIX

Q: how to start a service when system start