Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Bash commands to an 'ssh' within an ssh' Post 302386001 by Lakris on Monday 11th of January 2010 04:06:25 AM
Old 01-11-2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcintosh.jamie
bind: Cannot assign requested address

I can only assume that IT admin has restricted access on tunneling. Is there any other options available to me?

Thanks
Jamie

Ok, it is possible that opening ports is restricted.

But this works for me, without tunneling:

ssh user@server1 "ssh server2 ls"

The reason semi-colon ";" doesn't work is that it is a command to be executed on server1, AFTER the command ssh server2 is finished. You need to group commands differently. And if You still get "command not found" maybe transfer the command first, specify a full path name or something like that.

Best regards,
Lakris

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

SSH Compress Commands

I am brand new to unix and am hoping someone can start me in the right direction. I hope I have the right forum but if not can a moderator move this thread to the right area. I am moving servers and need to back up a folder and its sub folders into a .tar.gz file then want to upload that file... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kushti
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

ssh and commands

can someone point me to where it explains how to set the right commands wd ssh? cat something | while read h; do awk 'BEGIN {FS="\n"; RS=""; ORS="\n\n"} {if ($0~/'$h'/) print hdrvar,"\n",$0 }' /something/somedata ; done above works in when ssh'ing into linux machine invoke like this ssh... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: convenientstore
10 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

remote ssh commands help