Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Easy Script, just to find the given username if is it online or not Post 302361789 by thegeek on Wednesday 14th of October 2009 06:11:29 AM
Old 10-14-2009
Ya, you are right.

Exclude the first line, and have all the remaining lines in the script. Execute the script, which would ask you a user name and finds out whether that persons is logged in or not.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to find who fingered my username

Hi Everyone, Whenever someone uses the finger command against my username, he.she gets my info. Is there a way to find who ran the command against my username, somewhat like a log file for the finger command. I would be greatful if someone to clear my query. Regards Anirudh Koul... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: anirudhkoul
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Find, make and move file based on username

hi there, i'm new to UNIX( just 3month used), i found my new box contained alot of files and directories in /home/box/ i've tried to search script in tis forum and found many of them but, i don't know how to combine them to make a script, although using pipes. my tasks are: 1) to scan user... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Helmi
5 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Need help on installing an EASY to use and easy to install command line text editor

Hi again. Sorry if it seems like I'm spamming the boards a bit, but I figured I might as well ask all the questions I need answers to at once, and hopefully at least get some. I have installed Solaris 10 on a server. The default text editors are there (vi, ex, ed, maybe others, I know emacs is... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: EugeneG
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Find username of user running the script