Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Why won't my Ksh do math with (( ))? Post 302361211 by troym72 on Monday 12th of October 2009 03:11:07 PM
Old 10-12-2009
Why won't my Ksh do math with (( ))?

Hello,

I'm usring Ksh on AIX 5.3. For some reason my K-Shell gives me an error when I try to use the math operators (( )).

Can anyone tell me what's going on and how to fix it?

Thanks so much!

My K-Shell:
Code:
/>ls -al /usr/bin/ksh
-r-xr-xr-x   5 bin      bin          237420 Apr 10 2007  /usr/bin/ksh

Commands:
Code:

/>myvar=$ (( 1 + 1 ))
ksh: syntax error: `(' unexpected

/>myvar=`expr 1 + 1`
/>echo $myvar

/>let myvar=$ (( 1 + 1 ))
ksh: syntax error: `(' unexpected

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

something about <math.h>

Hi, I got an easy problem for you but really difficult for me 'cause I am pretty new to this field I got header file <math.h> included in my .c file , then I write the code as below: k = sqrt(i); /* both variables k and i are int */ then I cc temp.c it says like this undefined... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: blf0
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Ksh Why Won't IF Statement work?

I'm trying to figure out why this if statement won't work: if || $zipcount != 6 ]] then echo ${myline} echo "ZIPCODE WARNING! ${zipcode} ${zipcount}" fi if ]] then echo ${myline} echo "STATE WARNING!... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: developncode
3 Replies

3. AIX

won't mount /usr...won't boot fully

Hello: NOOB here. I attempted to use smit mkcd. Failed on first attempt, not enough space. 2nd attempt tried to place iso on /usr, not enough space there. Cleanup ran for about 5 minutes after aborting. Now AIX won't boot. LCD display on 7029-6E3 says: 0517 MOUNT /USR. Attempted to boot from CD... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: bbird
11 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

math help