Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers make 1 new file using records of 5 input files Post 302354323 by Scrutinizer on Thursday 17th of September 2009 08:12:53 PM
Old 09-17-2009
Code:
paste -d'\n' file1 file2 file3 file4 file5 > file6

If they have similar names with just a trailing number you could use:
Code:
paste -d'\n' file[1-5] > file6

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Reading specific contents from 1 input files and appending it to another input file

Hi guys, I am new to AWK and unix scripting. Please see below my problem and let me know if anyone you can help. I have 2 input files (example given below) Input file 2 is a standard file (it will not change) and we have to get the name (second column after comma) from it and append it... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: sksahu
5 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to split multiple records file in n files

Hello, Each record has a lenght of 7 characters I have 2 types of records 010 and 011 There is no character of end of line. For example my file is like that : 010hello 010bonjour011both 011sisters I would like to have 2 files 010.txt (2 records) hello bonjour and ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jeuffeu
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to make AWK process an input file many many times?

By "many many times" I mean the times the input file is to be processed is unknown beforehand, it will be known when awk finishes processing the input file for the first time. So my question is: how to start over again from the first record of the input file when AWK finishes processing the... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: kevintse
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script to delete files with an input for directories and an input for path/file