Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Grep multiple lines and save to a file Post 302349262 by chssastry on Monday 31st of August 2009 01:02:31 PM
Old 08-31-2009
Grep multiple lines and save to a file

Sir

I have a data file e.g. DATA31082009. This file consists of several data files appended to that file. The size of each data file is different. The first line of each file starts with "44". I want to grep data from "44" to the preceding line of next "44" and save it as a individual file. Thus I want to divide the main DATA31082009 into multiple files giving multiple names.
I am new to unix and shell scripting and highly grateful if anybody help me.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Grep on multiple lines

I 'm trying to grep 2 fieldds on 2 differnt lines. Like this: psit > file egrep -e '(NS|ES)' $file. Not working. If this succeeds then run next cmd else exit. Pls Help Gundu (13 Replies)
Discussion started by: gundu
13 Replies

2. AIX

Grep multiple lines and redirect to file

I have setof files with data and with same fields multiple times in each of the files. for example: file 1 name = mary kate last name = kate address = 123 street = abc name = mary mark last name = mark address = 456 street = bcd file 2 name = mary kate last name = kate... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: relearner
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Grep multiple lines from a file

Hi, I would like to ask if there is any method to grep a chuck of lines based on the latest file in a directory. E.g Latest file in the directory: Line 1: 532243 Line 2: 123456 Line 3: 334566 Line 4: 44567545 I wanted to grep all the line after line 2 i.e. Line 3 and line 4 and... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: dwgi32
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

grep command to find multiple strings in multiple lines in a file.