Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Samba Compiling questions
Operating Systems Solaris Samba Compiling questions Post 302337820 by Keepcase on Saturday 25th of July 2009 04:38:58 PM
Old 07-25-2009
hi reborg, I will get back to you regarding that simpler line for samba

Right now, I am trying to set the following line up as I will NEED AD support (I want to authenticate through AD for my samba users) <-- Am I correct here?

# ./configure --prefix=/usr/sfw --with-configdir=/etc/sfw --with-pam --with-pam_smbpass --with-winbind --with-ads --with-ldap

checking for Active Directory and krb5 support... yes
checking for ldap_initialize... no
configure: error: Active Directory support requires ldap_initialize

from what I've read ldap_initialize is part of the OpenLDAP development libraries

and I know I'm a newb so if someone could shed some light I would be grateful..

I downloaded openldap-stable-20090411.tar

and ran ./configure

and I get this error

configure: error: BDB/HDB: BerkeleyDB not available

I tried running make depend

but

# make depend
make: Fatal error: Don't know how to make target `depend'

I've searched everywhere but I feel like an idiot, I don't know that much about compiling and I can't seem to get samba installed with the correct arguments...

Any thoughts?

---------- Post updated at 03:01 PM ---------- Previous update was at 02:54 PM ----------

# ./configure --prefix=/usr/sfw --with-configdir=/etc/sfw --with-pam --with-pam_smbpass --with-winbind --with-ads --with-ldap

Okay, I'm going to ask 2 more questions for anyone out there willing to help

1) if I place samba into /usr/sfw and patch my Solaris box later on, will the patch (if there is a newer version of samba supported, as of right now it is 3.0.33) overwrite my old binaries as I will have my binaries in the same location??

2) and if I want to authenticate with AD using samba are the above arguments correct?

am I adding too many? (I'm thinking the PAM stuff?)