Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Why is it denying me permission? Post 302309811 by Ygor on Thursday 23rd of April 2009 01:43:16 AM
Old 04-23-2009
Directories need execute permissions.
Try...
chmod 770 dirname

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

su permission

Hi Forums, It seems to me that I can't use "su" command. When I type "su", I get the following message: /sbin/su - Permission denied Am I missing any thing? By the way I am using IRIX6.5 on a SGI computer. Many thanks in advance for your help. Cheers, Siavoush (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: siavoush
12 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

permission help

Ok heres the situation I've been studying Solaris 8 for about 6 months now and some things click in my head but others don't. One of the things that don't click are file permissions. For example I login at work and I use the ls -l command to get a long listing of the files w/ the permissions.... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: eloquent99
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

permission

Is it possible to set owner to a group? I need to have a group own a process, because there will be 3 diffrent persons that will start and stop this process. They can not use the same users cause och back logging. we need to know who end when a certian user start/stops processes. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: dozy
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Permission?

What does the following permission indicate? -rwSr----- 1 oracle dba 1536 Nov 7 17:05 orapwRTMDB Thanks, Rahul. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rahulrathod
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

access permission