Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting finding the line number from a grep ? Post 302293390 by Whiteboard on Tuesday 3rd of March 2009 04:19:34 AM
Old 03-03-2009
Code:
$ cat samplefile
test1
test2
test3
test1

$ grep -n test1 samplefile
1:test1
4:test1

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Finding number ranges using grep

Is it possible for me to find numbers in a file by a range using grep? like cat data | cut -f1 | grep <info> Im trying to find information and extract every amount that is less than a number (ie less than 75 or whatever) Is this possible? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: DKNUCKLES
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Finding the line number of matching braces

Hi,I am new to shell scripting and i want to find the line numbers of matching braces. The file contents are as follows File XXX.dat 1 ( CLASS "FRUIT" 2 (TYPE "PERSISTENT") 3 (MESSAGE_TYPE "M") 4 (GET_REQRD "Y") 5 (SET_REQRD "Y") 6 ) 7 ( CLASS... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Rajendra_1510
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk or sed for finding closest pattern to a line number

hi guys, I want to do pattern matching with awk or sed but I don't know how. here's what I want: I have a line number for a pattern that I have already found using grep, and I know a pattern like "---" that happens a few lines above that certain line number. I want to print out the chunk... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: alirezan
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

finding line number if the line contains

hi i have a file , that contains data like 34343538 3136414D 45583030 30302E54 445816AMEX0000.T 524E2020 20202020 20202020 20202020 RN 20202020 20203030 38303030 30303030 0080000000 30303030 30300D 000000. 20080724-051254.668419 D 473... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Satyak
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

finding the number of occurence of a word in a line