Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Mixing Perl with Bash
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Mixing Perl with Bash Post 302273290 by kermit on Saturday 3rd of January 2009 07:59:01 PM
Old 01-03-2009
Mixing Perl with Bash

I am fiddling with a little script that will issue a shutdown command if the temperature on the CPU goes above a certain level. I started writing the script in Bash, and then thought I would like to use Perl to extract the detailed bits, but I am not sure if this is really practical. Basically I want to parse the input a little better, but I am a bit of a novice at both Bash and Perl. I know how to extract what I want with Perl, but not so much with Bash. I know how to get the raw data with Bash, but I don't know how best to get that data to Perl, and then back as a variable to Bash so it can decide whether to leave the machine running, or issue a shutdown command. I wrote the first bit of the Bash script, which was relatively simple, but now I am at a standstill as I don't know how to bring Perl into the picture. Would my best bet be to write the 'raw data' to a file, and then call a separate Perl script, have it alter the file data as necessary, then read in the newly parsed data (in Bash) and act on that? Here is what I have gotten so far:

Code:
#!/bin/bash

cur_tmp= sensors | grep 'CPU Temp:' \
        | awk '{ print $3 }' \

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

passing variable from bash to perl from bash script

Hi All, I need to pass a variable to perl script from bash script, where in perl i am using if condition. Here is the cmd what i am using in perl FROM_DATE="06/05/2008" TO_DATE="07/05/2008" "perl -ne ' print if ( $_ >="$FROM_DATE" && $_ <= "$TO_DATE" ) ' filename" filename has... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: arsidh
10 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Need help with changing bash to perl