Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: setenv.
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users setenv. Post 302265277 by Franklin52 on Saturday 6th of December 2008 09:46:38 AM
Old 12-06-2008
The system function runs the command in a subshell (child) and parent shells don't inherit variables of childs.

Regards

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

setenv Question

I want to add paths to a CLASSPATH variable but if I use the : setenv CLASSPATH /opt all previous entries are erased. How do I append additional entries to a system variable without overwriting the original value. Thanx (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ianf
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

set, setenv

Well first of all I am a real Unix newbie. I am taking a course on it in University. I kind of understand set and setenv but, I think it si something that I should really understand. So I thought that I would try a forum out and see how good you guys really are. The question: Execute the... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: w6u6f
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

What 's setenv?

Hi Is someone know about "setenv"? where can i find out this one? Regards Myoe (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: myoeminn
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How do I set permanent setenv !!!

Hello, I just want to know ow I can set permanent pathes or whatever using setenv command. I'm using c shell . regards, me (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: geoquest
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

setenv in script

Is it possible to set environement variable in a script (for example, perl script) so that the variable will be set after exiting the script - in a father shell. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kosta_mirkin
2 Replies

6. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

difference between EXPORT and setenv

Hi, Is there any difference between setting an environment variable by EXPORT and by setenv? (3 Replies)