Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to assign value to a variable with row(using -n) returned by sed Post 302228776 by joeyg on Monday 25th of August 2008 11:43:41 AM
Old 08-25-2008
Tools Prefer to assign variables differently

Take a look at this example of variable assignment:
Code:
> ls file*
file1  file2  file3
> filecnt=$(ls file* | wc -l)
> echo $filecnt

Rather than the ` backticks, using the $(...) seems to be a little cleaner to execute and read. Perhaps modify your variable assignment similarly?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Assign the returned value of a function to a variable

Hi, Can anyone please show me how to assign the returned value of a function to a variable? Thanks. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: trivektor
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

assign subst|grep|sed command result to a variable

Hi, I'm quite new to scripting and I want to modify following line of an existing script: MYVAR=`subst |grep 'L:\\\:' | sed -e 's/.*\\\//'`; What I have to do is to use the content of a variable instead of the constant expression 'L:\\\:' as the grep string to be matched. Assuming I already... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: snowbiker99
5 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Assigning the output of a command to a variable, where there may be >1 line returned?

Hello I am using unix CLI commands for the Synergy CM software. The command basically searches for a folder ID and returns the names of the projects the folder sits in. The result is assigned to a variable: FIND_USE=`ccm folder -fu -u -f "%name"-"%version" ${FOLDER_ID}` When the command... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: Glyn_Mo
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

assign awk's variable to shell script's variable?