Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Delete a portion of a line using shell scripting Post 302228688 by Loy81 on Monday 25th of August 2008 08:30:02 AM
Old 08-25-2008
Delete a portion of a line using shell scripting

Hi all,
I am new to awk programs.I have a file like this

1234567@2345|[HELLO]|adcbdefhij: asgdfdasdfhhfd-asdfasd-dsfasdf |0.678|0.0|0.213
1234567@2345|[HELLO]|adcbdefhij: ashhfd-asdfasd-dsfasdf |0.129|0.0|0.411
1234567@2345|[HELLO]|adcbdefhij: asd-aasd-dasdf |0.223|0.0|0.276

I want to delete the text which occurs between @ and :
And also is it possible to remove the theses numbers which occur at the end of every line |0.223|0.0|0.276
This is urgent...Any help would be appreciated....

Thanks in Advance

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

who to deal with whole line in shell scripting

I have a problem in my HP Unix system , it is briefly : I have two files : Myfile and Script.sh : Myfile contain this lines : String1 string2 string3 string5 String1 string2 string3 string5 String1 string2 string3 string5 ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: KSA
2 Replies

2. Programming

Delete Portion of a file

hi i would like to know whether i can delete a part of a file in C for eg. if my file contained 1234567890 and i want to delete 456 so that it becomes 1237890 is there a way i can do this. well, one way i can achieve this is by creating a new file, copy whatever i want, then delete the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sameersbn
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

End of Line in Shell Scripting

I have a file containing records seperated by delimiter '|'.A record is contained on 2 or 3 lines. Now I need a shell script which could write all records with in two '|' character in one line.....for example..... |R1........................R1 R1..........................R1... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: 33junaid
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting