Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Parsing a large log
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Parsing a large log Post 302199935 by asth on Wednesday 28th of May 2008 06:35:36 AM
Old 05-28-2008
Parsing a large log

I need to parse a large log say 300-400 mb
The commands like awk and cat etc are taking time.
Please help how to process.
I need to process the log for certain values of current date.
But I am unbale to do so.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Splitting a large log file

Okay, absolute newbie here... I'm on a Mac trying to split an almost 2 Gig log file on a Unix box into manageable chunks for my web-based log analysis tool. What do I need to do, what programs do I need to do it? All and any help appreciated/needed :-) Cheers (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: simmonet
8 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problem with parsing a large file

Hi All, Following is the sample file and following is the op desired that is the last entry of each unique first field is required. My solution is as follows However the original file has around a million entries and around a 100,000 uniques first fields, so this soln.... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: gauravgoel
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Cutting a large log file in to smaller ones

I have a very large (150 megs) IRC log file from 2000-2001 which I want to cut down to individual daily log files. I have a very basic knowledge of the cat, sed and grep commands. The log file is time stamped and each day in the large log file begins with a "Session Start" string like so: ... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: MrTangent
11 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

parsing large CDR XML file

Dear Freind in the file attached how parse the data to be like a normal table :D (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: saifsafaa
3 Replies

5. Red Hat

Help for capturing a URL from a line from large log file