Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Is grep being used correctly? Post 302186672 by sai0899 on Thursday 17th of April 2008 08:06:49 PM
Old 04-17-2008
Question Is grep being used correctly?

My goal is to find files contain the "signal 11" string in a specific directory. I need the file details followed by the string.

I wrote a script to test out and play with Shell command since it's my first time to write a Shell script.

Let me cut the story short...

this command line: if [ 'grep -i "signal 11" $fil' -ne "" ]
returns nothing, but actually in reality, I have couple files contains "signal 11" string.

My question is, why does the script not return a list of files which contains "signal 11"?
Is there anything wrong with my script that you can see?

Thanks in advance!

==========================================

#!/bin/sh
#
RESULT=/disk2/app/applmgr/appltop/cssm_custom/11.5.0/out/W2.out
if [ -f /disk2/app/applmgr/appltop/cssm_custom/11.5.0/out/W2.out ]
then
rm $RESULT
fi
#List all modified files more then 7 days in the Directory
for fil in `find /disk2/app/applmgr/comntop/admin/log/ARDEV_arebdd -type f -mtime +7`
do
#Check if the file contains "signal 11"
#If Yes, print out the file name to the output file.
if [ 'grep -i "signal 11" $fil' -ne "" ]
then
echo "fil = $fil" >> $RESULT
fi
done
===============================================

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

HP-UX will not boot correctly

I am an intern at a company with an HP visualize C160 running HP-UX B.10.20. It has stopped booting to the gui and, after some coaxing, will end up at a text-based menu screen but virtually nothing can be run from there. At first the computer ran through it's boot process then stopped at this... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: intern
5 Replies

2. HP-UX

HP-UX will not boot correctly

i've same failure too, but this command boot pri isl not work/not found Thanks! (1 Reply)