Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: awk - split function
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting awk - split function Post 302183576 by fusionX on Wednesday 9th of April 2008 12:32:52 PM
Old 04-09-2008
Hi

Usernames should be:

user[1]="cdaeng";
user[2]="rdasal"; and so on....

while GECOS is just the first name and last name and phone and stuff (which goes to user comments)... if i get the usernames working, GECOS will be the same process.

try running the awk file on a file which has the following fields:

"CAPOZZI, MICHAEL B" 08-3191 x8035 Manufacturing
"CLAYPOOLE, AARON JON" 00-8739 x4424 Engineering
"CORRIGAN, DANIEL W" 09-5501 x4673 Sales
and so on.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

split function

Hi all! I am relatively new to UNIX staff, and I have come across a problem: I have a big directory, which contains 100 smaller ones. Each of the 100 contains a file ending in .txt , so there are 100 files ending in .txt I want to split each of the 100 files in smaller ones, which will contain... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ktsirig
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

perl split function

$mystring = "name:blk:house::"; print "$mystring\n"; @s_format = split(/:/, $mystring); for ($i=0; $i <= $#s_format; $i++) { print "index is $i,field is $s_format"; print "\n"; } $size = $#s_format + 1; print "total size of array is $size\n"; i am expecting my size to be 5, why is it... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: new2ss
5 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Split a file with no pattern -- Split, Csplit, Awk

I have gone through all the threads in the forum and tested out different things. I am trying to split a 3GB file into multiple files. Some files are even larger than this. For example: split -l 3000000 filename.txt This is very slow and it splits the file with 3 million records in each... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: madhunk
10 Replies

4. Homework & Coursework Questions