Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Fill the Key fields : Please help us Post 302180379 by charandevu on Monday 31st of March 2008 02:07:29 AM
Old 03-31-2008
hi era

Quote:
Originally Posted by era
Write an awk script which remembers the fields from the previous line, and adds as many to the front as are missing to form a full line. Assume the first line indicates how many fields a full line should have. Read up on array handling in the awk documentation.
I am new to this awk command ...........can you give a sample code on this requirment....that would be a helpful.....

Thanks your response
charan

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

Esc key/Auto-fill

I'm an HPUX/Linux guy, who appreciates occasionally hitting the Esc key for Auto-fill... Does sunOS have anything like this? This is my 1st post, and I didn't want to waste it :D thanks, manuel (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: mr_manny
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

align several fields and fill spaces with zero

hi all, i have a big problem, and i donīt know what to do. i have a flat file with several fields, which are separated by ";" like this: 5656838-7B;97030000-7;*;V16106133 ;1;1; 4612062-0B;97030000-7;*;C14038149 ;1;2; 8044938-0B;97030000-7;*;V16034219 ;1;2; where B is a blank space. ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: DebianJ
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Pressing backspace key simulates enter key

Hi, Whenever i press the backspace key, a new line appears, i.e. it works like a enter key. :confused: Thanks (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: vibhor_agarwali
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Matching by key fields

I have a file (key.dat) that contains two columns: AA|1234| BB|567| CC|8910| I have another file (extract.dat) that contains some data: SD|458|John|Smith| AA|3345|Frank|Williams| AA|1234|Bill|Garner| BD|0098|Yu|Lin| BB|567|Gail|Hansen| CC|8910|Ken|Nielsen| I want to compare the... (5 Replies)