Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Replace a perticular character of all lines of a file Post 302150336 by abovais on Tuesday 11th of December 2007 03:41:31 AM
Old 12-11-2007
Replace a perticular character of all lines of a file

Hi all,

I am new to UNIX, so sorry if my question seem stupid to u.

well i want to replace the first character of first 30 lines of a file, only if the first character is h.

and

in anothe script i want to replace a particular string/character say hello/h of a file.Condition: It should replace all Hello/h in the first line where it is found and after that it should stop.

Thanks!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

extract perticular lines and make them into speadsheet

Hi Masters, I knew this isn't a new issue, but couldn't find any similar threads. So, I have to bother you. Here is my input file (genomic data). The file has many sessions, each session seperated by //. Within eash session there is only one ID and GN line. ID 3HAO_HUMAN STANDARD; ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: mskcc
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to replace a character in the file?

Hi All, I have file contains the following information. chem00s4.mis.amat.com ] Critical 3/21 chem00s4.mis.amat.com ] Normal 3/22 chem00s4.mis.amat.com ] Normal 3/23 chem00s4.mis.amat.com ] Normal 3/24 chem00s4.mis.amat.com ] Critical 3/25... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ntgobinath
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

read in a file character by character - replace any unknown ASCII characters with spa

Can someone help me to write a script / command to read in a file, character by character, replace any unknown ASCII characters with space. then write out the file to a new filename/ Thanks! (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: raghav525
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace last character in file