Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Calculating field using AWK, or GAWK script Post 302142614 by Trellot on Sunday 28th of October 2007 03:16:18 PM
Old 10-28-2007
Question Calculating field using AWK, or GAWK script

Hello all,

I'm totally new to UNIX/Linux but I'm taking a course in it at my local JC.

My question: I have been tasked with writing a gawk script that will create a nicely formatted report. That part I've done ok on...however, the very last thing that must be done is a calculation of a particular field of data. Here is my script:

BEGIN { printf("%s%12s%10s%10s\n", "Date", "Low", "High", "Rain")
printf("=====================================\n") }
{ printf("8s%8s%10s%10s\n", $2, $4, $7, $11) }

END { printf"=====================================\n")
printf("Total Rain = %d\n", NR) }

I need the last line of code to calculate field $11 which should come out to 2.5 inches of rain based on my data file. I know right now that the last line of code is only calculating the number of records.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance!

Trellot Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Split a field in awk script

Hi all, I have a field in the line, let's say argument $6, which is in the format 00.00 If i want to split the field to get rid of the "." in between of the amount, how can i do that i awk script? I have it like this split($6,a,".") but it will get rid of the last 2 digits after the... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: CamTu
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

gawk multiply one field

Hi, I am a newbie to gawk and I really don't know how to do this... I have a file with several columns of numbers and I want to make operations with some of the values... cat file.dat | gawk -v NAME=2 '/AS/ {TIME=$4} $1==NAME {print TIME,($3*1)}' The result of multiplying the field 3 by... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: pau
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting