Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting SED command to change ./ to a space Post 302113293 by vgersh99 on Wednesday 4th of April 2007 05:05:33 PM
Old 04-04-2007
so if the 'first occurrence' happens to be in the middle of a line/string:
Code:
$ echo '_ABMSTR./TXT' | sed 's!./!!'
_ABMSTRTXT

Yes, you do need to 'anchor' the regex to the beginning of the line.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed command to change 2nd field

Hi I am a beginner to sed command, here I have a question about using sed to add a few characters into a token of a string. For example, I have a file, sqw:qqq:123124:uiqe dfd:ccc:12390:dfjis cde:aaa:21311:dfjsid and, I want the output to be, sqw:qqq:123124:uiqe... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Julius
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to change the name of the file which is having space in between

how to change the name of the file which is having space in between i have a file name called. san con.cfg ( since it cannot be opened ) i want to rename it to san_con.cfg i tried to cat and mv .. but not working (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: mail2sant
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using sed command to change end of line

I am looking to change a data file into a javascript string and this is the code that I am using: sed -i '' -e 's/^/str += "/' -e 's/$/";/' file.xml The first part -e 's/^/str += "/' works as intended, but the second part -e 's/$/";/' adds an additional newline to my file, so that instead of... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: figaro
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to use sed command for change special lines?

Hi, I want to add a character "#" in this few lines with sed command Initial: ### CACCIA: DEBUT ### if $(grep -wqi "$2" /etc/passwd); then chuser -R files registry=files $2 fi ### CACCIA: FIN ### Result with sed command: ### CACCIA: DEBUT ### #if $(grep -wqi "$2"... (4 Replies)