Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: adding 0 to a variable
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting adding 0 to a variable Post 302107158 by shivakundan on Wednesday 14th of February 2007 09:05:24 PM
Old 02-14-2007
typeset -LZ amt also removes leading zero's

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

adding contents of a variable to a command

hi all, i'm new to shell scripting, so i'm not sure how to work this. Is it possible to read in the contents of a variable and add it to a command? for example: ------------------------ #!/bin/sh set example = -dfr rm ${example} ------------------------ when i run the script, i want... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: gammarays
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Adding PATH variable in the startup scripts

Hi, I got a error message The environmental variable AUTOSYS is not set ! I think I require to to add a path to PATH variable in the startup scripts in the home dir. I tried using set PATH= but it is not setting the PATH when i do the echo $PATH , i dont get the new PATH reflected, Is... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: rajanishshetty
5 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

adding PATH variable

Hello i use bash and i added a path variable for 2 files /rscr and /uscr in /etc/profile /rscr working fine but the other one shows command not found and when i try to type whereis for scripts in /rscr it shows them but the other one shows nothing... thanks :b: (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: wir3d
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

adding spaces for a variable value

Hi, i have to form the header and add fillers(spaces) to it. I have done something like this. i have added 10 spaces at the end HDR="AAAABBBBCCNN " echo $HDR >> file1.dat but the spaces are not being stored in the file. How to add the spaces. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: dnat
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

adding value to variable using expr