Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: korn best practice for shell
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting korn best practice for shell Post 302077796 by jph on Monday 26th of June 2006 12:05:35 PM
Old 06-26-2006
korn best practice for shell

I need to create a korn function script that has parameter checking and a help section if the parameter count is wrong, then how do I create a library to store these functions and allow them to be called by others????

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Korn Shell

Hi I am new to shell programming. I need help to write a script to monitor a process on Sun OS. If the process fails then call a oracle procedure. i check the process if running by typing ps -ef | grep ESP | grep -v grep root 29002 1 0 Mar 18 ? 7:20... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: gpanesar
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

KORN Shell - Spawn new shell with commands

I want to be able to run a script on one server, that will spawn another shell which runs some commands on another server.. I have seen some code that may help - but I cant get it working as below: spawn /usr/bin/ksh send "telnet x <port_no>\r" expect "Enter command: " send "LOGIN:x:x;... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: frustrated1
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to convert from korn shell to normal shell with this code?

well i have this code here..and it works fine in kornshell.. #!/bin/ksh home=c:/..../ input=$1 sed '1,3d' $input > $1.out line="" cat $1.out | while read a do line="$line $a" done echo $line > $1 rm $1.out however...now i want it just in normal sh mode..how to convert this?... (21 Replies)
Discussion started by: forevercalz
21 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

practice tests- Unix Korn Shell Scripting