Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Need your advise for which version ? Post 302074286 by jsandova on Monday 22nd of May 2006 11:52:27 AM
Old 05-22-2006
I would recommend Mandrake now known as Mandrivia for beginners.

http://www.mandriva.com/en/community...mandriva_linux

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. What is on Your Mind?

Career Advise: Part 2

I am a windows server guy. Trust me, I know the limitations and arrogance of Microsoft as well as anyone. I just keep the servers running, I don't write the code. Just accepted a new job with a company that is mostly a UNIX shop for the vast majority of business applications. That is not... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: philwithbeard
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

I am one of the newbies, please advise

I am new to UNIX and Linux. I have some experiences with Windows server. I am thinking to start with those OS (Unix/Linux) and more specifically with the OS for the server. however, i have no idea which one would i start first, unix or linux? Because i also dont know how they are different. ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sanlen
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

your advise on mysql, please

My intention is to set up a mysql on unix. Could you provide some info, please, useful for realization of the plan (other than "read the documentation" that will be done anyway)? vaguely yours` sehrguey (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: serguey
2 Replies

4. Linux

Please advise me.

Hello all, I have a question, and would like some advice please. I am a windows guy by trade....5 years in the Marines is where I learnt a lot of what i know. I took a junior level sys admin job...learned a bit more...and now I do IT security. All of this happened in the last 8 years. So I'm 27... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Quality
2 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Advise on HP unix