Help w/ Reading Matrix & Storing in dynamic array

Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help w/ Reading Matrix & Storing in dynamic array
# 1  
Old 04-05-2014
Help w/ Reading Matrix & Storing in dynamic array

First of I would just like to state that I am not looking for you guys to just do my work for me, I do want to learn and actually understand everything that is happening.

Hey all, I am having trouble on this. What I need to do is... Write an executable C file that will take a text file (not a specific file, will be tested with many) that contains a NxN matrix and read it into a dynamically allocated array so that I can manipulate it however I would like.
I am fairly new to Unix and C and am having trouble with writing the code out.
I understand the steps needed by my program:
1. Use a loop to Scan or get (idk correct terminology) # of rows and columns in the test file.
2. Allocate the proper amount of memory (using malloc) based on the number of rows and columns.
3. Once memory is allocated, create 2d array of the needed size.
4. Loop through and store everything in the test file into the array.

I guess I am just not familiar enough with writing my own code in this language, and also doesn't help that I am doing this through a putty Debian server (not noob friendly IMO). Anything I write I usually end up just scrapping an hour after because I feel I have gotten nowhere with it and end up just overwhelmed by the problem at hand.

So would anyone mind helping me out in any way possible? I am willing to do whatever it takes to get a grasp on this stuff, I need to know this so if anyone would perhaps like to skype or something (I feel it would be much much easier that way) please let me know!
# 2  
Old 04-06-2014
Welcome to forum!

You can use search tool as many posts are repeated here, if you can provide us sample input and expected output, its well and good

following post might be useful for you, which reads file and stores in 2d array