searching files and display if present

Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers searching files and display if present
# 1  
Old 07-28-2010
searching files and display if present

Write a unix program to which files names will be passed as single
parameter (i.e all the file names will be concatenated
by using a specific symbol) and it will search in the respective
directories if the file exists there or not. For example
suppose the following parameter is passed "file1.txt:file2.txt:file3.zip"
to the program then it will search the files
file1.txt and file2.txt in the txt folder and file3.zip in the zip folder
and display that if they are present there or not.
# 2  
Old 07-28-2010
Homework? Recruitment test?
# 3  
Old 07-28-2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by pludi
Homework? Recruitment test?

Please reply ...I am new to unix and it's being frequently asked?

Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Unzip all the files with subdirectories present and append a part of string from the main .zip files

Hi frnds, My requirement is I have a zip file with name say eg: test_ABC_UH_ccde2a_awdeaea_20150422.zip within that there are subdirectories on each directory we again have .zip files and in that we have files like mama20150422.gz and so on. Iam in need of a bash script so that it unzips... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: Ravi Kishore
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

To Tar files which are not present

Hi guys, I need how its possible to tar group of files even though the respective file is not present for eg in my home folder my script looks like below by reading the content from file.txt and creating tar out of it can any one help on the below query a=`more file.txt` tar -cvf... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: rohit_shinez
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Joining files present in different directories.