shutdown - terminate all processing
The command is part of the HP-UX system operation procedures. Its primary function is to terminate all currently running processes in an
orderly and cautious manner. can be used to put the system in single-user mode for administrative purposes such as backup or file system
consistency checks (see fsck(1M)), to halt or reboot the system, or to make the partition ready for reconfiguration. By default, is an
Options and Arguments
recognizes the following options and arguments.
Shut down the system and halt.
Shut down the system and reboot automatically.
Shut down the system to a ready-to-reconfigure state and reboot if possible.
If the partition is unable to reboot, it will stop at a ready-to-reconfigure state. However, if the option is also speci-
fied, the system will always stop at ready-to-reconfigure state. This option is available only on systems that support
Shut down the system to a ready-to-reconfigure state and do not reboot.
This option can be used only in combination with the option. This option is available only on systems that support hard-
Do not require any interactive responses from the user.
(Respond or as appropriate to all questions, such that the user does not interact with the shutdown process.)
When executed on the cluster
in a diskless cluster environment, shutdown the only and do not reboot If this argument is not entered the default behav-
ior is to reboot all when the is shutdown.
grace Either a decimal integer that specifies the duration in seconds of a grace period for users to log off before the system
shuts down, or the word The default is 60. If grace is either 0 or runs more quickly, giving users very little time to
If (reboot) or (halt) or (reconfigure) are not specified, and systems are placed in single-user state. Either (reboot) or (halt) must be
specified for a shutdown to single-user state is not allowed for a See init(1M).
If the optional bundle is installed on the system, the system reboot time may improve for the (reboot), the (halt), and the (reconfigure)
goes through the following steps:
o The environment variable is reset to
o The environment variable is reset to space, tab, newline.
o The user is checked for authorization to execute the command. Only authorized users can execute the command. See for more
information on the authorization file.
o The current working directory is changed to the root directory
o All file systems' super blocks are updated; see sync(1M). This must be done before rebooting the system to ensure file system
o The real user ID is set to that of the superuser.
o A broadcast message is sent to all users currently logged in on the system telling them to log out. The administrator can spec-
ify a message at this time; otherwise, a standard warning message is displayed.
o The next step depends on whether a system is a or a
o If the system is is executed to shut down subsystems, unmount file systems, and perform other tasks to bring the system to run
o If the system is a the optional argument is used to determine if all in the cluster should also be rebooted. The default
behavior (command-line parameter is not entered) is to reboot all using entering results in the only being rebooted and the
being left alone. Then is executed to shut down subsystems, unmount file systems, and perform other tasks to bring the system
to run level 0.
o If the system is a is executed to bring the system down to run-level 2, and then is executed. Shutdown to the single-user
state is not an allowed option for
o The system is rebooted, halted, or put in the ready-to-reconfigure state by executing if the or or option was chosen. If the
system was not a cluster client and the system was being brought down to single-user state, a signal is sent to the process to
change states (see init(1M)).
This is the most commonly encountered error diagnostic,
and happens when a particular file system could not be unmounted; see mount(1M).
User is not authorized to shut down the system.
User and system must both be included in the authorization file
Immediately reboot the system and run HP-UX again:
Halt the system in 5 minutes (300 seconds) with no interactive questions and answers:
Go to run-level in 10 minutes:
Immediately shut down a partition so that it can be deleted:
Reboot a partition in 5 minutes so that new cells that have been assigned to the partition become active:
The user name compared with the entry in the file is obtained using (see getpwent(3C)).
The hostname in is compared with the hostname obtained using (see gethostent(3N)).
must be executed from a directory on the root volume, such as the directory.
The maximum broadcast message that can be sent is approximately 970 characters.
When executing on an NFS diskless cluster server and the option is not entered, clients of the server will be rebooted. No clients should
be individually rebooted or shutdown while the cluster is being shutdown.
If the option is used in a virtual partition environment on a partitionable system, then the requested reconfiguration will not take place
until all the virtual partitions on that hard partition are shut down and the virtual partition monitor is rebooted.
The file contains lines that consist of a system host name and the login name of a user who is authorized to reboot or halt the
system. A superuser's login name must be included in this file in order to execute However, if the file is missing or of zero
length, the user can run the program to bring the system down.
This file does not affect authorization to bring the system down to single-user state for maintenance purposes; that operation is
permitted only when invoked by a superuser.
A comment character, at the beginning of a line causes the rest of the line to be ignored (comments cannot span multiple lines
without additional comment characters). Blank lines are also ignored.
The wildcard character can be used in place of a host name or a user name to specify all hosts or all users, respectively (see
fsck(1M), init(1M), killall(1M), mount(1M), reboot(1M), sync(1M), gethostent(3N), getpwent(3C), hosts.equiv(4).
For more information about shutdowns and reboots on Superdome systems, see the manual, available on the web at