Set up TTL on process

Operating Systems Solaris Set up TTL on process
# 1  
Old 09-24-2010
Set up TTL on process

Is there a way to setup the TTL (Time To Live) on a process. We have many ssh processes that seem to just stack up. These processes do not need a static connection all the time and it might cause problems on our servers. Does anybody know how to setup the TTL on a process?
# 2  
Old 09-24-2010
There is "ulimit -t" but it uses CPU time, not clock time. Using it is however likely a wrong approach. You might first try understanding why these ssh processes do stack up in the first place.
This User Gave Thanks to jlliagre For This Post:
# 3  
Old 09-27-2010
I'm new to Solaris, how do I setup the "ulimit -t"?
# 4  
Old 09-27-2010
"ulimit -t" is not Solaris specific. You set it that way:

Code:
$ ulimit -t 60

That would mean the process cannot exceed 1 minute of CPU time.

Note that it affects the shell where you set it and all its children processes.
# 5  
Old 09-28-2010
This would affect all processes? Is there a way to just affect one process?
# 6  
Old 09-28-2010
I didn't wrote that would affect all processes, only the shell where you set it and its own children processes. Another clarification: the limit is per process, not shared.
# 7  
Old 09-28-2010
I'm a little confused. I need to set the value for just ssh processes in the shell. How would I do that?
Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Htop process viewer - set column width

I try to enlarge the htop column's width. I've found a solution, but it seems very specific and also too difficult. Is there any simpler way to make all the characters in a column visible? (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: plaidshirtuser
0 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

How to set postgres process in monit file?