How to start x_server

Operating Systems AIX How to start x_server
# 1  
Old 11-17-2010
How to start x_server

I'm really new to AIX. We have a user requesting the following:

We have observed that x_server is not getting started automatically from last couple of weeks.
Please check and make modifcation in the system to make x_server service is started under user id lcqadm once system comes up.

Can anyone help?
# 2  
Old 11-17-2010
Do you mean Xwindows :0.0 on the console?,
or Xdm user login service to start X Clients like a windows manager and terminals?

I use VNC and as I am not root, I use a cron to restart a default desktop after a reboot. I have one desktop for each host. VNC desktops never die but at reboot, so I set it up more rarely. I do not care for starting a new desktop a day.
This User Gave Thanks to DGPickett For This Post:
# 3  
Old 11-17-2010
the user is refering to the AIX server and having x_server service start automatically after and IPL. Not on the Windows side.

We run the AIX partition off of our iSeries box. I am a AS400 admin, not AIX, but was just recently given the task of administering this AIX box without any training I am basically running it blind.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks
# 4  
Old 11-17-2010
Well, yes, I was talking about UNIX X Windows, not MS Windows, or has the meaning of x_server been diluted, and has nothing to do with X Windows? It can get confusing. What sort of x service or x server process are you referring to?
# 5  
Old 11-17-2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by DGPickett
Well, yes, I was talking about UNIX X Windows, not MS Windows, or has the meaning of x_server been diluted, and has nothing to do with X Windows?
Sorry about nit-picking but there is no such thing as "X Windows". There is "X" aka "X11" aka "X Window" (without s) aka "the X Window System".
# 6  
Old 11-17-2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by DGPickett