Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: How to Update the database
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users How to Update the database Post 99938 by madaans on Wednesday 22nd of February 2006 11:13:30 AM
Old 02-22-2006
How to Update the database

I have to read one input file which will give me some tables info like TradeNo,MsgId,status etc...
I have read that TradeNo from that input file and then look for that trade no in the database table and in the database I have to update the columns for that particular trade which I am getting fron that input file.....
I dnt know how to write exactly.as i am new to shell Script.
and the other thing I can do is I can pass all these paramaters commandline also...
I really dnt know how to write the scripts and I have to write it in k shell...
help me out....

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell Script: want to insert values in database when update script runs

Hi , I am new to linux and also also to shell scripting. I have one shell script which unpacks .tgz file and install software on machine. When this script runs I want to insert id,filename,description(which will be in readme file),log(which will be in log file) and name of unpacked folder... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ring
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Dynamic update loop query on Sybase database

Hello Guys, I'm new to Shell scripting, and i need someone to help me with this issue: I'm trying to do a dynamic update query on Sysbase database table using shell script. Lets say, the Update query is "update Table set id=X" , where X is dynamic value for the loop index. If the loop is... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: Alaeddin
10 Replies

3. UNIX and Linux Applications

Edit/update an /etc/group database entry (c/c++)