Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux Searching for gaps in huge (2.2G) log file? Post 95471 by Perderabo on Wednesday 11th of January 2006 01:09:07 PM
Old 01-11-2006
Why not loop grepping for each minute? Pipe into "wc-l". If it's too low, print it out. That should be very easy. Don't be too surprised if it thins out during your busiest period though. syslog is a UDP service and no retransmission attempt is made.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

help searching log file with dates

Im tyring to create a script that will show me any lines in a file with todays date and yesterdays, the date format in the file is as follows ----- amqxfdcx.c : 728 -------------------------------------------------------- 07/12/05 09:53:20 AMQ6109: An internal WebSphere MQ error has... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: csaunders
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

searching a log file and appending to a .txt file

I'm new to shell scripting and am writing a script to help me log the free memory and hd space on a server. As of now, the script just runs 'df -h' and appends the output to a file and then runs 'top' and appends the output to a log file. What I want to do, is have the script also search the... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: enator45
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Searching for a string in a log file with little movement

I have a script which tails a log file and if it finds certain strings in the data tailed it sends an email, basically like this: tail -f logfile > tmp.file & sleep 10 kill $! STRING=$(grep -c "string" tmp.file) && echo $STRING | mailx -s "Warning.." admin@123.com When the string is... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: Moxy
10 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Searching for Gaps in Time