Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help needed in processing multiple variables in a single sed command. Post 93123 by stevefox on Thursday 15th of December 2005 08:55:26 PM
Old 12-15-2005
Thanks zazzybob.
However, for cases when there are like over 100 variables the code will be too long and will look ugly so I want way of some how using a wildcard character to process multiple variables. Is this possible?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Reading Multiple Variables From a Single Line in Shell

I'm a Linux newb, I've been running a Debian Linux server for about a year now, and I've written some simple scripts to automate various things, but I still don't know much, and I forget what I learn as fast as I figure it out... Anyway, that really isn't important, I just want you to know that... (14 Replies)
Discussion started by: Drek
14 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

flexible sed command needed to handle multiple input types

Hello, I need a smart sed command that can take any of the following two as an input and give below mentioned output. As you can see, I am trying to convert some C code INPUT: struct abc_sample1 { char myString; UINT16 myValue1; ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: SiftinDotCom
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Putting multiple sed commands on a single line

Hi, I want to make sed write a part of fileA (first 7 lines) to file1 and the rest of fileA to file2 in a single call and single line in sed. If I do the following: sed '1,7w file1; 8,$w file2' fileA I get only one file named file1 plus all the characters following file1. If I try to use curly... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: varelg
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

single output of awk script processing multiple files