Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers what is the 'whatis' command? Post 9183 by mischiefdemon on Tuesday 23rd of October 2001 04:01:14 PM
Old 10-23-2001
what is the 'whatis' command?

I am kind of new with Unix and I really need some help. Can you please tell me what the 'whatis' command is? and what does it do?

Let's say that I have a file which I want to delete, what command will I need to use?

If I have a directory that I want to delete all files from what command do I use?

What is the difference from deleting a directory, and deleting a directory and all its subdirectories beneath it? What command do I need to use?

Thankx,

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

sed 's/~/\^J/g' how to get "^J" on same line as rest of the command.

when ever i type it in it always looks like so echo $file | sed 's/~/\ /g' how can i get it on one line? (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: Optimus_P
6 Replies

2. Programming

i can't use 'make' in my computer?

I need to compile a file,but 'make' does not work.please tell me how to use it or need which tools? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: dsun5
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

'find' command question

my solaris text talks about the 'find' command... it further goes to talk about an "action" used with the find command. I am completely confused as to what the {} do with the find comand. the explanation is this: "A set of braces, {}, delimits where the file name is passed to the command from... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: xyyz
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Clearify what it means under 'WHAT' when hit the 'w'-command

I wonder how I shall read the result below, especially 'what' shown below. The result was shown when I entered 'w'. E.g what is TOP? What is gosh ( what does selmgr mean?)? login@ idle JCPU PCPU what 6:15am 7:04 39 39 TOP 6:34am 6:45 45 45 TOP 6:41am ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Aelgen